Can or Can’t

October 21, 2014

Prompt  Tell me about everything you can’t do. Now, in a second piece, tell me about everything you can do.

I suppose I could make two lists – like shopping lists – with my CAN’T list a bit longer than my CAN list, just so I would spare myself from bragging.

I could place all the CAN DO’S with who or what empowers me to do them. Some people say, “I can do all things in [God] who strengthens me.” NRSV Or “I can’t smile without you, can’t live without you ~ apologies to Barry Manilow.

Instead, I have made other arrangements.

I CAN’T LIST

Can’t catch a baseball, football, soccer ball, or a fish.

Can’t dance, but my pals and I went to the Y to learn how to “Cha Cha” and “Jitterbug.” That helps me fit in these days.

Can’t drive, because my right eye is not functioning, but that’s not my fault. I suppose I can learn to be less frustrated about not having a ride, or public transportation.

Can’t lie, or as a “catty person” said about me, “She’s obsessed with telling the truth.”

Can’t get over missing my son and daughter … or knowing if we will see each other again.

Can’t let go of the past hurts from family, church, but also can’t tell anyone else to SHUT UP.

I CAN LIST

Learn and grow, and talk mostly sensibly, though at times in puns and mumbles.

Read, write, research, and stifle a yawn through my nose when forced to sit through someone else’s boring lecture.

Preach and teach because I am courageous and caring, and if things don’t go well, I figure that there’s little to no chance of dying from embarrassment.

Listen … and mostly, keep quiet when there’ nothing to say.

I can decide what to share and what to keep secret, so this is my complete list, for today.

This entry was posted in mystory and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

