I Thank You God

November 25, 2014

Prompt: Make a list of everything you’re grateful for right now, at this moment. Include small mundane things and the big things. Write it all down. Read it out loud to yourself or to someone who loves you.

It is 9:23PM on November 26th; tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day.

For today, I am thankful for Laura, and her book, The Courage to Heal, which actually gave me courage, and to her continuing empowering voice in this writing group. I am thankful for everyone who gets the courage to write here and wish them well. I am grateful to my 8th grade English teacher, who first  encouraged me to write.

I’m thankful for my Anamcara and his continuing presence in our parallel journeys, for the opportunity to listen and to be heard.

I’m thankful that my daughter is in my life, and I love her dearly, and her husband, and the four beautiful grandchildren. I’m thankful for Michael and Nancy, wherever they are. I’m thankful for my sisters and my brother, for my cousins, and for the sweet memory of all my aunts, uncles, grandparents, and cousins.

I’m thankful that I developed the perseverance and the oomph to complete my grad school, and for the good feeling of being an ordained minister – not with a great deal of power and authority, but with a voice that is clear and true, and a strong empathy and listening ear. I’m grateful that I am still teaching and that the challenges and joys keep coming.  I’m grateful for my students who teach me more and more.

I’m thankful when Hannah yells out to me, “Love you, Nana!” and that her brothers and I made that tricky gingerbread house last night. I’m thankful for the little guy who will have his first birthday next month. I am so thankful that I have wonderful photos of the grandchildren, including the latest school pictures.

I am grateful that the sunrise and the sunset come, filling me with joy, and the bursting of colors. It love the wind and the rain and the snow, though I appreciate a hot cup of tea after being out in the weather. I am so thankful for music, and if there are not violins in heaven, I will protest. I am thankful for so much, for joy, for tears, for a comforting hug – give one, take one.

I’m happy to be able to use my hands ~ to play the piano, to write (but not so much with pen and paper as with computer ), to crochet and knit, to be nearly finished with a purple and variegated warm blanket for my friend. I’m happy to be able to tie pretty bows, and braid hair, and fix the table with flowers. I am particularly glad to know exactly where the Christmas tree stand is, for when the tree comes, maybe this Saturday.

I’m thankful that we woke up to a blanket of snow this morning, and the boys were here to see it!!!! I am thankful for hope, which I thought I had lost, then struggled with, then learned to realize that hope is in my heart and mind. I am thankful for love, for being able to love, and to receive kindnesses.

I wish for all the people whose life intersects mine – even for a few moments – joy and peace, courage and stamina, love and good friends with whom to share it all!

This entry was posted in mystory and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

