Surely God is in this Place

“It doesn’t interest me
what you do for a living.
I want to know
what you ache for
and if you dare to dream of
meeting your heart’s longing.”
(Oriah Mountain Dreamer)

I‘ll tell you what I ache for, but first, let me tell you about my epiphany. It’s about dancing.

When I sat down to watch Frozen with my granddaughter, she pushed the Play button on the remote, gathered herself to her full two-and-a-half-year-old height, stretched her arms upward and out, and began to
dance!

And she sang with Princess Anna and Princess Elsa. Our little one knows all the lyrics …. and she swirls like a butterfly. I always thought of myself as—to put it kindly, awkward. I took piano lessons, and there
was little danger of falling off the bench. But I really, really, really wanted to dance!

Watching Frozen, I felt my heart start to sing, my eyes fill with bright tears, my soul trying to break free of my self -imposed limitations.

What I do know – with great certainty — is that when I do the work I love, writing, for example, I reach out for the thoughts, the feelings, and ideas, and sometimes, I catch something lovely ~ The choreography
comes easily.

Oriah asks, “Mary, can you be with joy mine or your own?” She knows that I am afraid to dance with wildness, that I do yearn for ecstasy to fill me from head to toe. I stretch, reaching to the ends of
the universe, to touch the sky, to feel silky lace around me, to reach higher and higher, and to land, oh so beautifully, on soft snow pillows.

Surely God is in this sacred space between breaths, though I think it’s too sweet for words! Can you feel it, too?

This entry was posted in ourstory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

