Memory Eternal: Marcus Borg

I learned about Marcus Borg when, as a pastor in North Dakota, I went with several colleagues to a church conference in Southern Illinois. The book selection was enormous…. I asked for suggestions. I had already read, The God We Never Knew, but here I bought, Jesus, as well as Dom Crossan’s book, The Life of a Revolutionary Jewish Teacher. The Jesus Seminar has taught me so much about the relevance of continuing to study what Jesus of Narareth and his teachers can show us. M.E. Latela

WIT

Marcus Borg Marcus Borg (1942-2015)

Today I attended the memorial service for the New Testament scholar Marcus Borg.  It was one of the most beautiful and moving celebrations of the life and death of a person I have ever been privileged to witness.  I have never experienced such a tangible sense shared love and joy.

I have never actually met Marcus Borg, but for the last few years, I have been regularly attending and teaching in the church where Marcus was appointed as a Canon Theologian, and Marianne Borg served as a priest for many years.  They both left and retired to their home in Eastern Oregon before I arrived, but the impression of their presence remains.  I cannot possibly count the number of times I have heard someone in this parish say, “Marcus allowed me to be a Christian again,” or “Marcus’s work was such a…

View original post 1,139 more words

About @LatelaMary

Author of 14 self-help books, five still available: Prepare Him Room, Ten Steps to Peace, Healing the Abusive Family, Moments for Mothers. Breaking the Boxes: critique of institutions vs. individuals. Work-in-progress: Memoir (Sorting out Secrets)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

