The Precious Children

According to a recent article in the Huffington Post by Katie Sola, “Girl Fell From Tree, Visited Jesus In Heaven And Awoke Cured, Mom Claims In New Book.” A little girl claims she went to heaven after she fell from a tree and was cured of chronic sickness when she returned, according to a book released this week.

The girl suffered from painful chronic gastrointestinal conditions. Then she fell 30 feet from  a tree upside down into a hollowed out tree trunk. The little girl said that while she was being rescued, she went to heaven and met Jesus. Jesus told her she must go back home because he had work for her to do on earth.

You have heard of other books about children who have said they went to heaven, including the sad hoax, The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven, whose story had been a bestseller.

A vision of Jesus! Wow! A conversation with Jesus! My! A book by the mother about her daughter’s experience – why oh why?

If my child were to tell me something special and secret and holy, I would listen very well. I might ask a few questions. I would hug her, remind her that I love her, and let her go and play with her dollies and books. I would just be there, and encourage her to live, to hope, to dream, to DO. Someday, there may be pain again and what would we tell her?  What a theological dilemma that would cause!

I would NOT write a book – it’s not MY story. There is such a thing as invasion of privacy and a child’s recall of an experience, however real, may not be something an adult woman would want to carry around with her.

Many little children believe in “ma-gic.” They say it in a whisper. Who am I to deny what they believe?  They have their own cosmology, and I don’t know it … but I am learning!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/04/16/annabel-beam-tree-heaven_n_7072406.html?ncid=tweetlnkushpmg00000055

This entry was posted in death/dying, grief, StoryandSociety and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

