The Golden Thread

Earlier in life, I felt very alone and separate from everyone else, even from nature, and the universe. Then I discovered the golden thread, and life is SO much better.

First, I know there is a thread which has – whether or not Iwas aware of it – did connect me even to the ends of the cosmos. As a friend said, “Remember, Mary, you are stardust!” Well!

I am sure of this because there were times when – if the world were flat  – I probably would have fallen off the edge. I even have some blank spaces when who knows what was happening, but I kept on breathing and moving and keeping more or less busy.

This golden thread – which is like a sunbeam – is also like a rope which looks light and fragile, but which can hold an entire suitcase full of my old baggage if I want to let go of it at times.

You have your own golden thread, but somehow, we are all connected – up and down, up to the sky which goes on forever and down into the depths of our soul, which also goes on forever.

This is the only way I can explain that whatever life has brought, whatever has scared me, whatever danger came up… I AM HERE. My true heart is about creating art and music and literature, and that’s a nice setting, a good occupation. And I have my siblings, my daughter, the grandchildren, and some dear, dear friends who are there in case I slip. It’s a revolving door kind of existence because I love these others and I can help them hold on … even in a storm.

This entry was posted in mystory and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

