Good News …. Are we telling it?

Mary Latela, For the March 2015 Newsletter

BBoAdXZhomelesswomanconstavedc

Good News …. Are we telling it? January 24 2016

The heart-breaking reality is that winter is horrible for homeless people. @LatelaMary © Win McNamee/Getty Images

During the recent blizzard we had a glimpse of the major trials of winter weather for travelers and homeowners who lose power. When I saw the picture above I felt a shiver. The photo haunts me. The captions reads, merely, “Homeless Woman on 19th St Washington, D.C.”

The first time Jesus of Nazareth stood before the folks in his home town, there was quite a stir. He uttered words which shock, surprise, and more. He read from the prophet Isaiah: “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to bring good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives, and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor…” And he said, eye to eye with the townspeople: “Today this scripture has been fulfilled in your hearing.”

My mind returned to the woman. Did the photographer, the crew, give her a hot meal, some hot chocolate? Did they find her a shelter to stay for the night? Or did they move on because there are so many people like her and how can we help all of them?

I researched Getty and other corporations to see if they support donations to the people who give them their Pulitzer-prize settings. YES, THEY DO! Getty has huge programs to assist people who need a home, job training, healthcare, in the U.S. in Great Britain.

And you and I can help as well. The pictures documenting horrific conditions around the world are meant to tell the truth. And isn’t that what witnessing to the teaching of Jesus and others means for us: to bring good news to the poor, release the captives, free those who are oppressed.

When I was going through I difficult period, and trying to transition back to work, I thought immediately about the American Red Cross. I went in and of course they welcomed me, asked me what I liked to do, and found meaningful tasks for me, and also served some really good strong coffee.  Eventually, I was hired to work there full-time. It was a very helpful and wholesome transition time for me.

This was my experience. Have you gotten into meaningful activities which help others? I would love to hear from you.

Peace! Mary 8162283278, @LatelaMary mlatela@outlook.com

thfeedlinghungrychild       thfeedlinghomeless

This entry was posted in disaster, ourstory, StoryandSociety and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

