Me too!

I Know How That Feels by Mary E. Latela, June 4, 2016

At Lit Hub today, I was curious to see what Matthew Norman (author of Domestic Violets) had to say about: “What to Do When No One Shows Up To Your Reading” (http://http://lithub.com/what-to-do-when-no-one-shows-up-to-your-reading/)   What I read brought back clear images of  what happened at my first book signing, many years ago.

A friend drove me to the bookstore in case I became too nervous. The bookstore owners were a wonderful couple who were more mentors than vendors. There are no photos of that day (pre-cellphone with camera inside) so I can say without guilt that I looked terrific! The day was crisp, sunny. I had phoned thirty acquaintances who were mostly two busy with children’s activities as it was a Saturday afternoon.

So the printed ad was the draw. Perfect! My hosts assured me they had proofread, gone over every word about a local teacher who now will  meet to share and sign her first published book. No strangers came in. Friends were absent. After the longest pause in history (until that time in 198….) someone noticed.

Apparently all the ads, including the full-page picture and story included NO DATE! So chatting with a few friends who were not at all disappointed, but a little embarrassed for me, the “remnant” stood around talking about what everyone was doing, and I was asked about how I felt now that finally my name was linked with a book title. I even had as ISBN number!

Memories! Proofread twice!

 

This entry was posted in art, learning, mystory, writing life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

